Classified Immovable Properties

    MM013-St. Tiago da Barra Fortress



    Location: Macao

    Category: Monuments

    Introduction: Avenida da República

    The Fortress of São Tiago da Barra was originally equipped with 16 cannons when it was constructed in 1629, based on the former site of a simpler defensive fortification previously built by the Portuguese in 1622. It has a strategic importance at the time as the commander of this fortress was directly and independently appointed by the King of Portugal and was not subject to call by the Governor of Macao. This is also the only fortress built on the order of the King of Portugal. Apart from the military installations, a catholic chapel was built within the fortress area in 1740 to worship St. James, the patron saint of the military, who can be found wearing Portuguese military uniform and holding a sword and a shield.

    According to historical records the fortress wall measures 110 meters long and 40 meters wide, forming a rectangular platform rising 3 meters above sea level. Thus originally, a polygonal pillbox once existed within the fortress area for military purposes. This was one of the most important fortresses in Macao for its strategic value and location, and ensured effective control on all maritime activities as it guarded the water entrance towards the Inner Harbour.

    The fortress was converted into a 5-star hotel (Pousada de São Tiago) in 1981 and the condition of the catholic chapel was well preserved. The restoration and renovation of this hotel project received the Excellence Award in the Heritage Buildings Re-use Competition held by the Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA).


    Architectural characteristics:

    According to records, São Tiago da Barra Fortress covered a site 110 metres long and 40 metres wide, on a platform 3 metres above sea level. In the past there was a cistern at the centre of the fortress and beside it lodging for 70 soldiers. Below the platform was a warehouse for armaments and provisions.



    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

被評定的不動產(建築文物)

    MM013-聖地牙哥炮台



    地區位置: 澳門

    被評定的不動產類別: 紀念物

    另稱: 西灣炮台、媽閣炮台

    位置: 民國大馬路

    聖地牙哥炮台建成於1629年,曾裝備有16門大炮,而在此之前該處只是一座由葡萄牙人於1622年修築的簡陋炮台。聖地牙哥炮台是澳門唯一一座由葡萄牙國王親自下令興建的炮台,而其管轄司令亦一直由葡萄牙國王任命,澳督無權過問,可見其地位之特殊。除軍事設施外,炮台內還築有一座建於1740年的小教堂,當中供奉在葡萄牙被奉為「戰神」的天主教聖人──聖雅各伯,其身穿葡國軍服,手持長劍鐵盾。

    據記載,聖地牙哥炮台的城牆長110米,寬40米,形成一個高出海平面3米餘的長方形平台,上面還有一個用作防禦的多角形碉堡;整座炮台地處內港的狹窄入口處,能有效控制所有海上活動,是當時保護内港的一座重要屏障。

    1981年,炮台被改建為聖地牙哥酒店,而炮台中的小教堂亦得到完好保護,整個改建項目在亞太區旅遊協會的文物建築再利用評比中獲得優異獎。

     

     

     

     

     


    建築特色:

    據記載,聖地牙炮台的城牆長110米,寬40米,形成一個高出海平面3米餘的長方形平台,上面還有一個用作防禦的多面堡。往時,炮台中央有一個鑿石而成的蓄水池,旁邊有一個可容納約70名官兵的營房,平台下則有軍械糧食貯藏庫。



    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本