Classified Immovable Properties

    AM044 – House at No. 6 Calçada do Gaio


    Location: Macao

    Category: Buildings of architectural interest

    Since the opening of Estrada da Vitória, the Guia Hill has become a place of western-style residences together with Avenida da República. Particularly along the Calçada do Gaio, there was a diverse array of villas in different styles. Among them, the House at No. 6 Calçada do Gaio is the only extant villa built in the first half of the 20th century. The construction was completed on 1 April 1930, and according to property records, the house has been resold several times. At the end of 1986, the interior of the house was rebuilt into a women’s dormitory for the Macao Health Services Technical School to be used by medical staff for short breaks. As shown in pictures, the colour of the building was changed into yellow at the time. After the Institute of European Studies of Macau was established in 1995, the house was reused as its headquarters. After conservation works the exterior colour was reverted to the original red, and the building has been in use up to now.

    Among many villas in the area, the House at No. 6 Calçada do Gaio is especially outstanding. From historical pictures, one can easily recognise its horseshoe arches. The three-storey structure is built along a street with a semi-basement on the ground floor. The façade of the building is in the style of eclecticism specific to Arabian decorations. It classically comprises three sections. The first section is a foundation with few openings and a array of simple decorative horizontal lines to bring out the heaviness of the imitation stone. The second section is characterized by porched balconies embellished with Arabian decorations. The third section is one of parapets separated by white protruding eaves boards. The Arabian architectural style is reflected in the horseshoe arches above the balconies, the thin pillars, as well as in the geometrical decorative elements, such as the ceramic tile patterns applied to the façades and the brick patterns on the arches of the second floor. The horseshoe arches and pillars are not used for supporting purposes but for decorative purposes.

    The House at No. 6 Calçada do Gaio is one of the few well-preserved and unique residences built in the upper half of the 20th century in Macao. It is expected to shed light on the lifestyle of residents in the area in the 20th century. The architectural style embodies the cultural diversity of Macao combining artistic features from different cultures. Together with the Vasco da Gama Garden, the House at No. 6 Calçada do Gaio is part of a historical urban landscape around the Guia Hill.

     


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

被評定的不動產(建築文物)

    AM044-東望洋斜巷6號房屋


    地區位置: 澳門

    被評定的不動產類別: 具建築藝術價值之樓宇

    位置: 東望洋斜巷6號

    東望洋山腰自得勝馬路開闢後漸漸成為除南灣、西灣一帶以外的西式住宅區,其中東望洋斜巷沿路建有多座風格各異的別墅式住宅,而東望洋斜巷6號房屋是該街道上僅存的二十世紀上旬建成的別墅式住宅。現存建築於1930年4月1日落成,而從物業登記資料可知,東望洋斜巷6號房屋也曾多次作轉售。1986年底,東望洋斜巷6號房屋的內部空間作重新規劃,改為當時衛生司技術學校的女子宿舍,供醫護人員作短暫休息之用,根據圖則所示,建築物亦改以黃色為主。1995年歐洲研究學會成立後,以東望洋斜巷6號房屋作為其會址,建築物亦改以紅色為主,並一直沿用至今。

    東望洋斜巷6號房屋在該區眾多別墅式住宅中尤其突出,在眾多歷史照片也能辨認其“馬蹄拱”。其樓高三層,由於沿街而建,其中地面層為半地下室空間。從立面分析,建築風格屬於帶阿拉伯裝飾的折衷主義。建築立面仍按照古典三段式來劃分:第一段為基座,開洞較少,以簡單橫向裝飾線條營造出仿石的厚重效果;第二段則以通透的外廊為主,帶有阿拉伯裝飾細部;第三段為女兒牆,以白色纖薄的外挑簷口板作為分隔。建築的阿拉伯風格體現在外廊開口設置的連續“馬蹄拱”及纖細立柱上。其中,一層的馬蹄拱以白色為主,拱頂為圓形,拱間空隙填充有以幾何圖案為主的磁磚紋樣;二層的馬蹄拱則帶有磚紋裝飾,拱頂亦改為尖頂,以增加其向上延伸的感覺。建築物之馬蹄拱及立柱已失去其主要的支撐作用,僅作為裝飾構件存在。

    東望洋斜巷6號房屋配合地形沿斜坡而建,屬於帶阿拉伯裝飾的折衷主義建築風格,其裝飾精巧細緻,是澳門二十世紀上旬建成的別墅式住宅中,少數保存完整、風格獨特的例子,為研究二十世紀該區的生活面貌提供參考。其建築風格反映澳門作為多元文化交匯的城市,透過吸收不同文化的藝術特色,融匯於日常的建築設計之中。時至今日,該建築與華士古花園相呼應,構成東望洋山腰的歷史景觀。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本