Classified Immovable Properties

    AM048-Building at Estrada Nova no. 2



    Location: Macao

    Category: Buildings of architectural interest

    The Building at Estrada Nova no. 2, also known as the ‘small green house’ due to the colour of its outer wall, is situated at the intersection between Estrada de S. Francisco and Estrada Nova, and is adjacent to St. Francisco Fort and Barracks. It was designed by Portuguese architect Carlos Rebelo de Andrade (1887-1971) in 1919 and is representative of Casa Portuguesa (Portuguese residential style). Emerging as the architectural trend prevalent across Portugal in the late-19th century, Casa Portuguesa was advocated by Portuguese architect Raul Lino, who published Casas Portuguesas, a book that has exerted profound influence on Portugal and regions under its administration.

     

    Carlos Rebelo de Andrade was one among many who have promoted Casa Portuguesa in Macao. He was transferred to Macao in 1918 and worked at the Public Works Office (public works department at that time), where he participated in the design of a range of important construction projects, such as renovation projects for the Headquarters Building of the Post Office, Fire Services Bureau Building, Escola Comercial Pedro Nolasco and St. Francisco Barracks, as well as the construction of the Building at Estrada Nova no. 2.

     

    The Building at Estrada Nova no. 2 was originally designed as the quarters for staff at the St. Francisco Barracks and was later used as the quarters for doctors and pharmacists due to its proximity to the military hospital (now the Conde de São Januário General Hospital). Consisting of two connected houses, the building features an axisymmetric exterior and layout, and is built on a coarse granite base. The front façade is designed with a porch, and the living room and dining room are separated with a door arch and a fireplace. On both sides of the building are semi-hexagonal small halls with a sloped roof that faces the garden. The dining room windows are decorated with columns and canopies. The building is topped with a double-tiled hip roof, and ornaments resembling Chinese eaves are featured at the end of the roof ridge, on the window canopies and at the corners of chimney pinnacles. Many of the design elements introduced to the building by Carlos Rebelo de Andrade, such as the arched porch and window canopies, have been adopted in later Portuguese architecture in Macao.

     

    By the 1990s, tenants of the Building at Estrada Nova no. 2 successively moved out and the Financial Services Bureau has been renting the building to a non-profit organisation since 2012.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

被評定的不動產(建築文物)

    AM048-加思欄後新馬路2號房屋



    地區位置: 澳門

    被評定的不動產類別: 具建築藝術價值之樓宇

    位置: 澳門加思欄後新馬路2號

    加思欄後新馬路2號房屋,俗稱“綠屋仔”,因綠色的建築外牆而得名,其位於澳門加思欄馬路和加思欄後新馬路的交界處,毗鄰聖方濟各(加思欄)炮台及兵營,由葡萄牙建築師Carlos Rebelo de Andrade(1887-1971)於1919年設計,是葡萄牙民居風格(Casa Portuguesa)建築的典型代表。葡萄牙民居風格(Casa Portuguesa)建築興起於十九世紀末葡萄牙本土的建築潮流,由葡萄牙建築師Raul Lino所提倡,其著作Casas Portuguesas出版後,對葡萄牙及其管治地區產生深遠影響。

    Carlos Rebelo de Andrade是本澳葡萄牙民居建築風格的推動者之一,他於1918年調職來澳,在任職工程公所(當時的工務部門)期間參與設計了許多重要建築項目,如郵電局總部大樓、消防局大樓、伯多祿商業學校、加思欄軍營修繕工程,以及加思欄後新馬路2號房屋等。

    加思欄後新馬路2號房屋原設計用作聖方濟各(加思欄)兵營的人員住宅,由於鄰近軍人醫院(即現今仁伯爵醫院),後改作為醫生和藥劑師之住宅。該建築由兩幢相連的房屋組成,外觀和平面佈局均中軸對稱,整座建築以粗糙麻石作為基座,正立面設有入口門廊,室內以門拱和壁爐間隔客廳和飯廳,兩側設有帶坡屋頂的半六角形小廳與花園相望,飯廳的窗戶裝飾有柱式和窗簷,而屋頂採用四坡金字瓦設計,屋脊末端、窗簷及煙囪的簷角,更有模仿中國飛簷式樣的裝飾構件。Carlos Rebelo de Andrade在本建築作品中所運用的許多設計元素為日後本澳葡式風格建築中多有採用,如拱形門廊、窗簷裝飾等。

    加思欄後新馬路2號房屋至二十世紀九十年代後,住戶陸續遷出,其後由財政局於2012年借予非牟利機構使用至今。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本