Classified Immovable Properties

    MM048-St. Paul’s College Archaeological Site (Remains of the College Building and Remains of the Old Walls: Two Segments at Pátio do Espinho and One at Beco do Craveiro)







    Location: Macao

    Category: Monuments

    St. Paul's College, founded by the Society of Jesus in 1594, is the first Western institution of higher education in China. In the college, missionaries to be dispatched to Japan and mainland China were trained with knowledge of Oriental languages, religions and philosophy, as well as scientific knowledge, music and art from the West, which has exerted a positive and profound influence in promoting the cultural exchange between the East and the West.

     

    According to historical records, ‘St. Paul's College was officially inaugurated on 1 December 1594 with an opening ceremony for the new semester held at the new campus. The new campus, located on a hillside with an open view, boasted beautiful surroundings and occupied a massive area that was sufficient for the construction of more courtyards and allowed for further campus expansion. The campus was equipped with complete facilities, and the classrooms were well lit and spacious with good ventilation.’ The college was comprised of a church, a teaching area, courtyards, dormitories, a printing house, a drugstore and vegetable gardens and surrounded by walls. The Cartas Ânua do Colégio de Macau (Annual Report of St. Paul's College of Macao) of 1594 reads: ‘It (the college) is situated along the hill and surrounded by high walls…Two walls around Mount Hill overlook the college.’ Alessandro Valignano, the Society of Jesus’ Visitor to the Eastern Missions, also mentioned this in a letter he wrote to the Superior General of the Society of Jesus in the same year: ‘We have also built a very solid rammed earth wall around the entire hill which is connected to the seminary, and the seminary is enclosed by the wall.’ In 1601, the college was reconstructed due to a fire disaster. In order to build a ‘Hortus conclusus’, a concept from the Middle Ages meaning ‘enclosed garden’, the walls were reconstructed in 1606 and the reconstruction was completed in the same year. In 1762, the college was closed due to the impact of the suppression of the Society of Jesus in Portugal, and the missionary work of the college ended. Most of the college’s buildings were destroyed in another fire in 1835.

     

    Despite the passage of time, fire disasters and desolate condition, some architectural remains of St. Paul’s College have nonetheless survived. A number of remains were discovered by archaeologists at the east side of the college’s site in 1995, including those of the courtyards, corridors, prayer room, drainage channels, and parapet walls. Also unearthed were ceramics, coins and other relics, most of which date back between the late Ming dynasty and the early Qing dynasty. It can be seen from a painting created between the late 18th century and the early 19th century that the south wall stretched along the hill from the southwest of Mount Fortress and, from the maps dated 1886, 1889 and 1912, that the south wall was marked at the same location and the area of St. Paul’s College was also identified, with the east, west and north walls indicated. According to the analysis of both the historical documents and the remains, the two rammed earth wall sections at Pátio do Espinho and the section at Beco do Craveiro are part of the walls of St. Paul’s College. The section in the north of Pátio do Espinho mainly stretches east-west with an existing length of 135.2 metres, height of around 3.4-4.4 metres, top width of about 0.7 metres and bottom width of about 1.6-2 metres. Mostly enclosed by residential buildings to its south and north, the section was part of the north wall of the college. The section in the west of Pátio do Espinho, mainly stretching from northeast to southwest with an existing length of 6 metres, height of about 2.3-2.5 metres and width of about 0.6 metres, is part of the west wall of the college. The rammed earth wall section at Beco do Craveiro, mainly stretching from northeast to southwest with an existing length of around 20 metres, height of about 2.3-2.5 metres and width of about 0.6 metres, is part of the south wall of St. Paul’s College and can be seen in its entirety inside the adjacent Mateus Ricci College; there is a door opening on this section which was subsequently filled in.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

被評定的不動產(建築文物)

    MM048-聖保祿學院遺址(學院建築遺跡;圍牆遺跡:茨林圍兩段、蔡記里一段)







    地區位置: 澳門

    被評定的不動產類別: 紀念物

    位置: 澳門大三巴斜巷、茨林圍、蔡記里

    聖保祿學院由耶穌會創立於1594年,是中國境內第一所西式高等教育機構,培訓赴日本及中國等地的傳教士,讓其學習東方語言、宗教及哲學,同時,亦在此傳授西方科學知識、音樂及藝術,為促進東西文化交流發揮著積極、深遠的作用。

    根據歷史檔案記載:“聖保祿學院於1594年12月1日在新校舍舉行開學典禮。新校園座落於視野開闊的山坡上,不但環境優美,而且面積很大,還可以興建多個庭院,有充分擴展的餘地。校內設施也較整全,教室明亮寛敞,通風很好[1]。”學院除了包括教堂、教學區、庭院、宿舍、印刷所、藥房、菜園等設施,尚有圍牆環繞,1594年的《澳門聖保祿學院年報》稱:“它(學院)依山勢而建,周圍有高牆環繞……炮台山有兩道俯視學院的圍牆[2]。”而耶穌會遠東教務視察員范禮安(Alessandro Valignano)在同年寫給耶穌會總會長的信件中亦提道:“我們還在與神學院相連的整座山的周圍建造了一道非常堅固的土牆,圍牆包圍著(神學院)[3]。”1601年,學院經歷了大火後進行重建,而為實現將學院視作封閉庭園(Hortus conclusus)的中世紀概念,圍牆於1606年再次被建造,並於同年竣工。直到1762年,受到耶穌會在葡萄牙被取締的事件所波及,聖保祿學院被關閉,至此,學院的宣教工作被終止,後於1835年再次遭遇大火,大部分建築被燒毀。

    雖然歷經時間更迭、火災和荒廢,但仍有部分聖保祿學院建築遺跡保存下來,1995年,於學院東部經考古發現庭院、走廊、祈禱室、排水溝、護牆等遺跡,出土文物包括陶器及錢幣,大部分年代屬明末清初。至於圍牆在繪於十八世紀末十九世紀初油畫中,仍可見南圍牆自大炮台西南依山勢而下,而1886、1889及1912年的地圖中,除了南圍牆的標示依然如故,還畫出了聖保祿學院的範圍,顯示其東、西、北圍牆的位置,結合文獻資料及實物遺存分析,現時位於茨林圍的兩段,以及蔡記里的一段夯土牆,屬於聖保祿學院圍牆的一部分。茨林圍北側的夯土牆大致呈東西走向,殘長135.2米,殘高約3.4-4.4米,頂部寬約0.7米,底部寛約1.6至2米,大部分範圍被其南北兩側的民居包圍,屬於聖保祿學院北圍牆;茨林圍西側的夯土牆大致呈東北至西南走向,殘長6米,殘高約2.3至2.5米,寬約0.6米,屬於聖保祿學院西圍牆;蔡記里的夯土牆大致呈東北-西南走向,殘長約20米,殘高約2.3至2.5米,寬約0.6米,可於緊鄰的利瑪竇中學(中學部)內一窺全貌,夯土牆上具一處已被後期封堵的門洞,屬於聖保祿學院南圍牆。

     

    [1]葡萄牙里斯本海外歷史檔案館,第1695號抄件。轉引自李向玉《澳門聖保祿學院研究》,澳門:澳門日報出版社,2001年,58頁。

    [2] 李向玉《澳門聖保祿學院研究》,澳門:澳門日報出版社,2001年,58頁。

    [3]〔日〕高瀬泓一郎《基督教時代的文化與諸相》,東京:八木書店,2002年,350-353頁。轉引自戚印平《澳門聖保祿學院研究:兼談耶穌會在東方的教育機構》,澳門:澳門文化局、上海:社會科學文獻出版社,2013年,96頁。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本