Classified Immovable Properties

    MM047-Remains of the Man-made Pit on Rua de D. Belchior Carneiro



    Location: Macao

    Category: Monuments

    Between 2010 and 2012, the Cultural Affairs Bureau commissioned the Institute of Archaeology of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences to carry out four phases of archaeological fieldwork in the area of the former St. Paul's College located at no.16-22, Rua de D. Belchior Carneiro. During the fieldwork, a large and slightly circular pit with a diameter of around 5.8 metres and a depth of 9.9 metres was found at no. 20 on the same street. The pit is a man-made vertical cylindrical well excavated on the bedrock at the northern foot of Mount Hill. When excavated, the pit walls were found to be slightly different from each other. On the west and the north walls, the sections within 3 metres below the ground surface are more upright and show a more regular structure; past 3 metres below the ground surface, larger protruding rocks with uneven edges and corners were found, which may be a result of difficulties in the excavation process due to the hardness of the rocks. From top to bottom, chisel marks from the manual excavation process can be seen at different spots on the excavated stone walls.

     

    Numerous archaeological remains have been unearthed from the pit, including ceramic and porcelain fragments and architectural items, such as shards of blue-and-white porcelain bowls, dishes and box lids featuring floral, bird, deer and other hand-drawn motifs, and many of the items are Kraak porcelain which were to be exported for sale. Also included in the unearthed items are dark brown-glazed pottery jars, celadon-glazed pottery bowls and other ceramic containers, as well as drip tiles, flat tiles, round eave tiles with floral motifs, firing discs, and capiz shell products. According to the researchers, the porcelain items are mainly dated between the late 16th century and the early 17th century, which approximately falls within the period from the later years of Emperor Wanli’s reign to the reigns of Emperor Tianqi and Chongzhen in the Ming dynasty, and some date back to the reign of Emperor Kangxi in the Qing dynasty. These porcelain shards were mostly manufactured at private kilns in Jingdezhen. It is deduced that the pit was a large man-made project, as it is almost 10 metres in depth, and is carved out at the bedrock with a rather clear-cut shape and structure, and traces of modification are clearly evident on the four walls. Therefore, the researchers believe it is possible that this pit is related to the well mentioned in the Cartas Ânuas do Colégio de Macau (Annual Reports of St. Paul's College of Macao).

     

    Since their settlement in Macao, the Portuguese have used the city as a base for foreign trade and exported silk, porcelain and other Chinese products to Japan, Southeast Asia and Europe. The relics unearthed from the Remains of the Man-made Pit on Rua de D. Belchior Carneiro, including the huge number of ceramic and porcelain fragments dated between the late Ming dynasty and the early Qing dynasty, are of great significance to the study of Macao’s history and bear witness to the crucial role Macao has played as a major transit port and trade centre for the Sino-Western maritime trade along the Maritime Silk Road.

     

     


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

被評定的不動產(建築文物)

    MM047-高園街大坑遺跡



    地區位置: 澳門

    被評定的不動產類別: 紀念物

    位置: 澳門高園街

    文化局於2010年至2012年期間,委託中國社會科學院考古研究所於昔日屬於聖保祿學院範圍的高園街16-22號,展開前後共四期考古工作,並於高園街20號發現平面略呈圓形,直徑約5.8米,深約9.9米的大坑。大坑遺跡是在大炮台山北側山麓基岩上人工開鑿出的一豎井式圓形坑。坑壁在開鑿時略有差別,其中西壁、北壁在地表下3米以上部分較豎直,開鑿較為規整。西壁、北壁在地表下3米以下部分,壁面凸出有較大石塊現象,且棱角分明,可能與岩石堅硬不易於開鑿有關。在開鑿的石壁上,從上至下多處可見人工開鑿的鑿痕。

    坑內出土了大量陶瓷器殘片、建築構件等考古遺物,包括繪飾花鳥紋、鹿紋等紋飾的青花瓷碗、盤、器蓋,其中不少是用於外銷的克拉克瓷,此外,亦出土了醬釉陶罐、青灰釉陶碗等陶器,以及滴水、板瓦、花卉紋瓦當、墊餅、海月片製品等。研究人員判斷瓷器的主體年代應在16世紀末至17世紀初,大致相當於明朝萬曆後期、天啟、崇禎年間,部分屬清朝康熙年間。就其來源而言,該等青花瓷片主要為產自景德鎮民窯的產品。由於大坑開鑿在基岩之上,平面形制較為規整,四壁修整痕跡明顯,且深度近10米,推測是一項較大型的人工工程,因此,研究分析不排除大坑與《澳門聖保祿學院年報》中記載的水井相關連。

    自葡萄牙人租居澳門後,以澳門作為對外貿易的基地,絲綢、瓷器等中國商品自澳門遠銷日本、東南亞,以至歐洲各地,而高園街大坑遺跡出土的大量明末清初陶瓷器殘片等出土物,對澳門歷史研究有重要價值,亦見證了澳門作為當時東西方海上貿易的重要中轉港和貿易中心,在海上絲綢之路上發揮的重要作用。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本