Elements of Intangible Cultural Heritage

    Confection of Preserved Fruits


    Introduction:

    Macao has a long history of making preserved fruits and this traditional industry is therefore very old in Macao. Fruit preparation originated from local farmers who used traditional formulas to prepare and store food products, including fruits. Preserved fruits are one of the typical traditional delicacies of Macao, usually being prepared with the use of sugar or salt, in order to acquire a taste and condition that local residents describe as “salty, sour, and wet”. Different styles of preserved fruits depend on the type of fruit being prepared, some of which are dry-processed, while others are wet-processed. In the dry-processing method, fruits are first washed, pressed, dehydrated with salt and sun-dried, and then washed, immersed in sugar, and again sun-dried. In the wet-processing method, fruits are washed and peeled, and they are covered with salt and then with sugar, without sun-drying. Homemade-style preserved fruits are a seasonal product, and the most common types include plums, garcinia xanthochymus, apricots, prunes, citrus, ginger and olives. Due to their similar ingredients and production techniques, traditional homemade-style preserved fruits in Macao are usually sold next to products like traditional sauces.

     

    Conservation Status:

    In the old days, Macao still had available land plots for sun-drying fruits and enough space for the fruit preparation industry. In the 1930s and 1940s, there were more than 20 shops in Macao selling preserved fruits. However, with development, land resources became more scarce and there was a decline in the traditional industry of fruit preparation. Despite the popularity of preserved fruits among local residents, nowadays there are only a few shops in Macao that are still producing  preserved fruits.

     

    Heritage Value:

    Preserved fruits are a characteristic food item that has regional and seasonal qualities. The confection of preserved fruits requires a series of techniques that is also representative of the resilience and transmission of Chinese food culture in Macao. The processes used in this production, the variety of different types of preserved fruits produced, and the development of this traditional industry are also of significant value for the study of local folk food culture.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

項目簡介

    涼果製作技藝


    項目簡介:

    涼果製作及其行業在澳門已有悠久歷史,源自農民將糧食、果子儲備和醃存的傳統。涼果是本澳傳統小食之一,水果經糖或鹽醃製,產生酸中帶甜,甜中帶鹹,口感濕濕的口感,因而本澳居民形象地稱呼其為“鹹酸濕”。涼果的製作視乎不同的水果,可分為乾製和濕製兩種,乾製為果實洗淨後,拍打出裂縫,以鹽腌製曬乾,再漂水加入糖等腌料曬乾而成,濕製是把果實洗淨去皮,以鹽醃製之後以糖進行二次醃製,不需要曬乾,手工製作的涼果講究節令,本澳常見的涼果種類為:話梅、仁稔、杏脯、陳皮梅、柑桔、薑和欖等。由於材料和製作技藝相近,本澳的傳統手工涼果與醬料通常是並列而賣的。

     

    存續狀況:

    早期澳門的經濟活動範圍小而空置的地方相對較多,爲涼果行業的晒製提供方便,所以二十世紀三、四十年代,本澳售賣涼果的店鋪多達二十多家,但隨著城市發展,土地資源緊絀,促使涼果業走向式微;雖然涼果依然深受市民喜愛,但在本澳自設有工場進行手工製作的涼果店已僅餘無幾了。

     

    重要價值:

    涼果作為具有地域性、時令性的特色食品,其製作技藝是中華飲食文化在本澳傳承發展的重要體現;其技藝得色和涼果種類,以及其行業的變遷,對研究澳門飲食民俗文化具有重要研究價值。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本