Elements of Intangible Cultural Heritage

    Macanese Gastronomy - Confection of the Alua





    Introduction:

    Pastries and sweets are essential elements of the Macanese gastronomic culture in Macao. For celebrations and family reunions, the tables of the Macanese community are filled with all types of  salty and sweet delicacies. The Alua is a delicacy that is typical of Christmas, with its consistency symbolically resembling the mattress of baby Jesus. Originally  an Arabic confection, it was brought to Macao from India. It is made of flour, butter, almonds, Indian almonds, crystal sugar and coconut milk and milk. The making of this delicacy involves a series of processes such as kneading, fermenting, cooking, cooling and slicing. Cooking the Alua is a complex process in which fermented ingredients are put into a heated pot of milk, coconut milk and crystal sugar, with the addition of butter and Indian almonds. The mixture is then stirred continuously for 8 hours to thicken. Then the paste is cooled and sliced into square pieces. The entire process takes around three days. The Alua, usually has a color and texture similar to Chinese glutinous rice cakes, also being sweet and soft.

     

    Conservation Status:

    Like other Macanese delicacies, the Alua was originally passed on from mothers to daughters and later was recorded in cooking recipes and books. Nowadays, there are only a few people in Macao who know how to make this delicacy, with most chefs being Macanese women and master pastry chefs who acquired this skill through training. Because it is an essential item in Macanese Christmas celebrations, the Alua has in recent years been promoted by Portuguese bakeries in order to share with a growing public, also in the hope of ensuring the transmission and continuity of these techniques.

     

    Heritage Value:

    The Alua is an important local delicacy, that is much appreciated by the Macanese community during Christmas. Its origin and techniques are also a good example of the cultural exchange between the West and China, also being representative about the diversity of gastronomic culture in Macao. These techniques is also of value for the study about local gastronomic culture and the cooking skills of the Macanese community.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

項目簡介

    土生葡人美食烹飪技藝-牛油糕製作技藝





    項目簡介:

    糕點和甜食是澳門土生葡人飲食文化裡必不可少,在族群聚會、各種節日慶典,土生葡人的餐桌上總有各式鹹甜小食及糕點,而牛油糕是慶祝聖誕節必備的糕點,象徵耶穌的褥子。牛油糕原是阿拉伯食品,輾轉經印度傳入澳門。其製作材料包括麵粉、牛油、杏仁、欖仁、冰糖、椰汁和牛奶,製作工序主要有搓粉、發酵、煮糕、放涼和切塊。其中,煮牛油糕是製作過程中重要的一環,將已發酵的材料放入熱鍋中,以牛奶、椰汁、冰糖作為基底,加入牛油、欖仁等材料連續攪拌8小時,材料逐漸由水狀漸變成濃稠的糊狀,經放涼成糕狀,整個工序需時三日。製成的牛油糕多切成方塊狀,其色澤和質感像中式年糕,口感甜香軟糯,齒頰留香。

     

    存續狀況:

    牛油糕製作技藝的傳承,與其他土生葡人美食一樣,最初由母親傳授給女兒,後來以收錄菜譜的方式傳承下來。現時,懂得製作的人數不多,主要是土生葡人婦女,以及經過培訓習得此技藝的糕點師傅。由於牛油糕仍然是土生葡人在聖誕節必備的食品,加上近年有葡式糕餅店製作和推廣,讓更多人品嚐到這款特色糕點,有助牛油糕製作技藝的傳承和延續。

     

    重要價值:

    牛油糕是土生葡人在聖誕節享用的糕點,其源流和製作技藝是澳門中西文化交流和多元飲食文化的重要體現,對於研究本地飲食文化和土生葡人美食技藝具有一定價值。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本