Elements of Intangible Cultural Heritage

    Making of Chinese Cheongsam






    Introduction

    The Cheongsam is one of the traditional Chinese garments, presenting both male and female versions, with the latter being designated as qipao. Cheongsam is a fitted garment that needs to be tailor-made. As such, and before making this type of garment, it is necessary to measure several references, including the collar position, shoulder width, body length, upper chest, waist and the arms. From design to its completion, the making of a Cheongsam usually involves several different phases, including cloth cutting, soaking in water, drying, shaping, sewing and embroidery of the edges. This craft requires a great deal of skill, in order to ensure that the garment is completely symmetrical, and that the tailor’s work is consistent and coherent, with a uniform result in the end. The Chinese Cheongsam emphasizes the form-fitting elegance of the person wearing it, being considered a very typical oriental garment.

     

    Conservation Status:

    Despite the popularity of western-style clothes nowadays, traditional Chinese garments are still very popular too. Particularly, the qipao is intimately associated with ideals of oriental female beauty, being a very popular garment among local female customers. Some of the most common fabric patterns include flowers, geometric designs and auspicious Chinese symbols. Nowadays, there are only a few craftsmen in Macao who are still making Chinese Cheongsam garments by hand.

     

    Heritage Value:

    The Chinese Cheongsam has a profound cultural meaning, having been transmitted throughout many generations, with its inherent unique craftsmanship and techniques. This making of Cheongsam is also representative of the traditional craft of Chinese clothes making in Macao. The cultural values that are represented by its delicacy, elegance and auspiciousness, as well as its underlying aesthetic values and wisdom, are the result of the knowledge that was transmitted by many generations of tailors throughout the ages.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

項目簡介

    中式長衫製作技藝






    項目簡介:

    長衫是中式傳統服飾之一,有男裝和女裝之分,女裝長衫又稱旗袍,長衫講求貼身剪裁,需要量身定做,因此,在製作前需要對領位、膊寬、身長、上圍、腰圍、臂圍等進行量度,其後由畫稿至完工,需經過剪布、浸水、晾乾、定型、縫紉、封邊等工序,對手工技藝的要求甚高,要求整體對稱、手工統一、具連貫性,所以整套工序常常由個人單獨完成;中式長衫因其可突顯東方人的身段和優雅氣質,而成為東方人的形象符號。

     

    存續狀況:

    雖然現在西式服裝流行,但中式傳統服裝仍然具有一定市場,尤其是旗袍所能突顯的東方女性體態美,使旗袍依然深受本地女士喜愛,花卉、幾何和中國傳統吉祥圖案是較常見的旗袍圖案,現今本澳仍然堅持全手工製作中式長衫的手藝人已經不多了。

     

    重要價值:

    中式長衫製作技藝文化內涵積澱深厚,世代相傳,技藝獨特,是中華民族傳統服飾製作手藝在澳門的一脈相承的體現,其精巧雅致、吉祥如意的文化內涵、審美觀及智慧創作,是歷代傳統服飾手藝人不斷傳承和創新的智慧結晶。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本