Elements of Intangible Cultural Heritage

    Manufacture of Incense Sticks




    Introduction:

    Incense sticks are used for the worship of deities. It’s believed that the smoke released from the burning of incense sticks can reach the domain where deities reside, thereby being widely used in religious ceremonies and people’s daily rituals. As incense sticks became indispensable for traditional Chinese worship rituals, the respective manufacturing industry prospered. There are essentially two principal processes for the manufacturing of incense sticks in Macao – incense kneading (“Cuoxiang”) and incense coating (“Linxiang”). In the method of incense kneading, certain proportions of sawdust, spices and incense powder are mixed in a tray and the mixture is then poured into a basin and kneaded until it becomes sticky when heated. Thin bamboo sticks are then rolled, one by one, until they are fully coated. Afterwards, the coated incense sticks are left to dry in open air. The entire process is very technical and requires sophisticated skills and delicate craftsmanship, noting that each incense stick is manufactured individually, which makes the cost of this process relatively high. In the “Linxiang” method, the incense coating is achieved with a process in which a large bundle of bamboo sticks are soaked in water and then dipped in the mixture of incense powder three times before they are left to dry. This process is more efficient, but the quality of incense sticks produced is poorer when compared with incense kneading of the “Cuoxiang” method.

     

    Conservation Status:

    In the past, the incense stick manufacturing industry was one of Macao’s three principal manufacturing industries, together with the match and firecracker industries. With a history of more than one hundred years, these industries served as a key economic pillar of Macao. The production of incense sticks peaked during the 1950s and the 1970s, when there were more than 40 local incense factories. With the opening of the Chinese mainland market and due to a lack of space and a limited local workforce, this traditional industry declined, leaving only a few craftsmen today who are still dedicated to this handicraft.

     

    Heritage Value:

    The manufacture of incense sticks involves complex processes and sophisticated techniques, which is representative about the resilience of this traditional Chinese handicraft culture in Macao. The prosperity of the local incense industry was directly connected with the traditional customs and religious beliefs of local communities. As such, this craft is also of significant value for the study of past economic development of Macao, as well as the daily lives, traditions and culture of local residents.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

項目簡介

    神香製作工藝


    項目簡介:

    神香是供神時用的一種薰香,焚香產生的煙縷,被認為有通達神靈之效,在各種宗教儀式和個人生活中一直被廣泛使用。隨著神香成為華人傳統祭祀中的必需品,也帶旺神香製作業的發展。本澳的製香主要分為搓香和淋香兩種工法,傳統上由全手工製作,“搓香”是指先在盤中依比例混合好木糠、香料和香粉,倒入盆中徒手來回搓揉,香粉受熱產生黏性,再把竹枝逐根放入香粉中滾動,直至竹枝沾有足夠的香粉,搓揉後經晾曬風乾而成,搓香的步驟十分講究技術,且手工細緻,且需要逐枝製造,成本價格相對較高;淋香則是直接將一大束竹枝浸在水中,再插進香粉漿裡,重複三次後曬乾,效率高但品質不如“搓香”。

     

    存續狀況:

    神香製造業昔日與火柴、炮竹並列為本澳三大手工業,生產歷史已逾百多年,是昔日澳門經濟的重要支柱。本澳的製香業的生產量在二十世紀五十至七十年代期間達至高峰,曾多達40多間製香廠。隨著內地市場的開放,以及製香所需的空間和人力資源緊張,這個傳統行業日漸萎靡,僅餘少數的製香手藝人仍在經營。

     

    重要價值:

    神香製作工藝生產工序複雜、技術細膩,是中華傳統工藝文化在澳門傳承發展的重要體現。澳門神香業的繁榮與本地區昔日生活習俗和族群宗教信仰相關,對研究本澳昔日經濟發展、居民生活文化均有重要價值。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本