Elements of Intangible Cultural Heritage

    Manufacture and Painting of Portuguese Azulejos






    Introduction:

    The word azulejo is derived from the Arabic az-zulayj, meaning  “small polished stones”, with its manufacturing developed by Muslims in the Middle Ages. It is a form of ceramic tile work that was later applied extensively by the Portuguese to decorate building walls, following geometric, floral and figurative motifs. By the end of the 17th century, influenced by Chinese blue-and-white porcelains, blue azulejos against a white background gained popularity and were integrated in Portuguese tile production, also depicting historic and religious themes. The manufacture and painting of Portuguese azulejos is a process that involves free-hand painting on tiles, later obtaining the glaze result by firing the tiles in kilns for 8 hours at a temperature ranging from 1,000 to 1,100 ℃, depending on the intended final color depth. The final step corresponded to the application of the tiles in a composite manner to obtain the intended conceptual patterns and images.

     

    Conservation Status:

    Influenced by Portuguese culture, Portuguese azulejos remain very popular and can be found on street signs, churches and building walls in Macao. Some craftsmen in Macao today are still creating Portuguese azulejos and offering azulejo workshops, noting that the elements of Portuguese azulejos continue to be applied to local architecture and souvenir designs.

     

    Heritage Value:

    The manufacture and painting of Portuguese azulejos is a traditional craft of Portuguese arts and culture that was also transmitted in Macao. While continuing to make use of traditional patterns and techniques, it has also incorporated many local themes and motifs. The practice of this craft is also representative of the harmonious co-existence of Chinese and Portuguese cultures in Macao. The transmission and continuity of this industry also reflects the multicultural dimension of the local community, being a good example of the diversity that exists in the decorative elements of the city’s urban spaces.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

項目簡介

    葡萄牙瓷磚畫製作工藝






    項目簡介:

    葡萄牙瓷磚畫Azulejo,其名稱字源是從阿拉伯文az-zulayj,在中世紀時先由穆斯林所使用,意思為拋光的小石頭,葡萄牙人將此瓷磚工藝大量應用於建築牆壁裝飾上,以拼貼出幾何和花草植物圖案,至十七世紀末,受到中國青花瓷的影響,白底藍色的瓷磚畫逐漸流行並成為葡萄牙瓷磚畫的典型色彩,並加入更多的故事性和宗教性的圖案內容。葡萄牙瓷磚畫工藝是指使用釉藥在生磚上手繪圖案,根據不同顏色釉藥需求的溫度,放入窯爐以1000-1100℃燒製8小時而成,再拼貼成畫。

     

    存續狀況:

    受到葡萄牙文化的影響,澳門的一些路牌、教堂或建築物壁畫尚保存有昔日的葡萄牙瓷磚畫作品,在澳門廣泛流行,目前仍有部分藝術工作者從事葡萄牙瓷磚畫的創作和舉辦工作坊,而葡萄牙瓷磚畫的元素亦有被廣泛使用在本澳的建築設計及宣傳紀念品設計上。

     

    重要價值:

    葡萄牙瓷磚畫製作工藝是葡萄牙藝術文化在本澳傳播和共融的傳統工藝,在延續其傳統樣式和技術,同時加入了許多本地的題材和圖案,成為本澳中葡文化和諧共融的見證和體現,葡萄牙瓷磚畫製作工藝的傳承延續亦反映了居民和土生葡人社群對葡萄牙藝術文化的傳承和演繹,包含了對本土獨特城市文化的認同及情感連繫。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本