Elements of Intangible Cultural Heritage

    Winter Solstice Festivities


    Introduction:

    The winter solstice is the first moment of the year defined in the context of the 24 solar terms (the 24 moments tactivitieswhen the sun reaches the predefined positions) that are part of the traditional Chinese calendar. In the period of the pre-Qin dynasty, it was considered that the winter solstice marked the beginning of a year. In the Northern hemisphere, this is also the shortest day of the year. Traditionally, this occasion is celebrated in China, between the 21st and 23rd of December. In ancient agricultural societies, the day of the beginning of agricultural affairs was calculated according to the position of the Sun, considering that the winter solstice occurred when the Sun reached the celestial longitude of 270°. After the winter solstice, days become gradually longer, marking a new cycle. For many local residents, the winter solstice is also considered as an occasion when families get together for reunion dinners, like Chinese New Year, also paying respect to ancestors. The most popular delicacy consumed on this day is the Tangyuan, sweet glutinous rice balls, that symbolize unity and family intimacy.

     

    Conservation Status:

    The traditions of the Winter Solstice have been actively preserved by the local Chinese community of Macao for a long time. This day also corresponds to one of Macao’s public holidays. As time has passed, some of the rituals, such as ancestor worship, reunion dinners and tangyuan consumption have become more simplified. Nonetheless, the value of these traditions has been passed from generation to generation, to our days.

     

    Heritage Value:

    Being one of the oldest and most traditional celebrations of Macao, the winter solstice festivities represent  the transmission and continuity of the traditional Chinese culture of Macao. The idea of family unity reflects some of the main virtues of family ethics that are much valued by the Chinese nation. At the same time, the practices and customs of these festivities also reveal important element for the study of the local folk culture.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

項目簡介

    冬至


    項目簡介:

    冬至是二十四節氣中最早被確立的節氣,在先秦時代被視為歲首,為北半球全年白晝最短的一天,亦是中國的傳統節日,時間在每年陽曆12月21日至12月23日之間。古代農業社會的先民測定當太陽運行至黃經270度之日,就是農業生產的指標性節氣,稱為冬至,自冬至起,日照漸長,象徵著萬物周期的新開始。許多本澳居民視“冬至大過年”,對全家人一起“做冬”吃團圓飯的傳統尤其重視,也有不少居民會在冬至日進行祭祖,本澳冬至的應節食品以湯圓最為流行,象徵祈求團團圓圓。

     

    存續狀況:

    冬至的節慶習俗在本澳華人社會一直得到傳承和發展,冬至當天也是本澳的法定假期。隨着時代的變遷,居民簡化了祭祖、做冬和包湯圓的儀式及準備,但依然維持著與親人團聚吃團圓飯、吃湯圓的傳統,其節慶習俗的精神內涵一直被延續。

     

    重要價值:

    冬至作為澳門歷史悠久的傳統節日之一,是中華傳統民俗文化在澳門一脈相承的重要體現,冬至過節習俗所維繫的家庭團聚觀念,亦發揮著維護家庭倫理的作用,同時其富有地方特色的習俗活動,具有重要的本土民俗文化研究價值。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本