Elements of Intangible Cultural Heritage

    Feast of the Immaculate Conception




    Introduction:

    Immaculate Conception is a catholic dogma related to the “Virgin Mary’s conception without original sin”, as recognized by Pope Pius IX, on December 8, 1854. On December 8 each year, catholic churches in Macao celebrate the feast, according to liturgical instructions from the Catholic Diocese of Macau. The day of Immaculate Conception corresponds to an important celebration of the Diocese of Macau. of the catholic Portuguese living and the local catholic Macanese communities in Macao.

     

    Conservation Status:

    The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a traditional local feast that has a long-standing history. Being an important date of the liturgical calendar of the Catholic Diocese of Macau, this day is designated as one of the public holidays of Macao – the only place in Asia to have it as a public holiday. On the day of celebration, the churches in Macao organize great masses, also including a procession in honor of Virgin Mary, while some local catholic schools also hold religious activities on that date.

     

    Heritage Value:

    The Feast of the Immaculate Conception corresponds to an array of religious activities, which have become characteristic of Macao, being attended by a large number of devotees and local residents every year. This is a significant event that embodies Macao's cultural diversity, and is also important for the study of the local religious culture.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

項目簡介

    聖母無原罪瞻禮




    項目簡介:

    聖母無原罪(Immaculate Conception),又稱聖母無染原罪、聖母始胎無染原罪等,是天主教有關聖母瑪利亞的教義之一,由教宗庇護九世頒佈,內容為至聖童貞瑪利亞在始孕時,因全能天主的恩寵、特恩,仗賴著人類救主基督耶穌的功勛,免除原罪的一切玷污;由於頒佈確立日期於1854年12月8日,所以每年12月8日,澳門天主教堂按教區指示,需要守瞻禮及停工,是澳門教區、居澳葡萄牙人及土生葡人等社群的重要節慶日。

     

    存續狀況:

    聖母無原罪瞻禮是本澳的傳統節慶,傳承已久,是澳門天主教教區十分重視的日子,被定為澳門的法定假期,是亞洲地區唯一將這節日列為公眾假期的地方;每逢節日當天,澳門各間教堂均會舉行盛大的彌撒儀式,部份教堂會舉行聖母像出遊,一些天主教學校也會舉行宗教活動,備受重視。

     

    重要價值:

    聖母無原罪瞻禮是本澳歷史悠久及具地方特色的宗教紀念活動,每年均有不少教友和社區居民參與,其實踐方式和文化內涵是澳門本地宗教文化精髓,也是本澳多元文化的體現,具有重要的本土宗教文化研究價值。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本