Classified Immovable Properties

    ST002 – Carmo Fair (Former Site of Taipa Municipal Market)


    Location: TAIPA

    Category: Sites

    The Former Taipa Municipal Market, also known as Carmo Fair, is located at the intersection of Rua Direita Carlos Eugénio and Rua do Cunha in Taipa. It was first built in 1879[1] and its present form dates from a reconstruction in 1886[2]. In the 1970s, the Taipa Municipal Market fell into disuse. With the urban development of Taipa, a new municipal market was built in 1983 at the crossroads of Rua do Cunha and Rua do Regedor. The former site of the Taipa Municipal Market began to be used for utility and warehousing purposes. In 2003, the Civic and Municipal Affairs Bureau began to reconstruct the Former Site of Taipa Municipal Market. On the basis of the main structure, a new square was developed and the remaining walls on the two sides were demolished to provide an open area for the public. It was given the name “Xu” – the way municipal markets were conventionally called in Cantonese. This designation reflects the idea of combining a municipal market with a square[3].

    The Former Taipa Municipal Market has at its centre a pavilion with a hip-roof, which is flanked by arcade structures with mono-pitched roofs, low walls and entrances. Although the market was built in western style, the roof was covered with typical Chinese style roof tiles from Guangdong.. The columns have a neoclassical influence, namely of the Doric order, although their proportions and structure are not usual.. The roof structures are supported by traditional western wooden trusses, the cornices of which use two layers of boards rarely seen in Macao. The inner layer of boards features petaloid edges typical of buildings in Southeast and South Asia. The Carmo Fair is one of the main public structures in the old part of Taipa that has a unique architectural style.

    Before the rise of large indoor municipal markets, open-air municipal markets dominated. The Carmo Fair (Former Site of Taipa Municipal Market), is a material legacy referring to this ancient typology and is an important historical testimony to the evolution of Macao's public markets.

     


    [1] Historical archives, The Archives of Macao, Document No. MO/AH/AC/SA/01/00502.

    [2] Official Gazette, 14 September 1886, No. 36.

    [3] Information provided by the Municipal Affairs Bureau.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

被評定的不動產(建築文物)

    ST002-嘉模墟(原氹仔市政街市舊址)


    地區位置: 氹仔

    被評定的不動產類別: 場所

    位置: 鄰近氹仔施督憲正街的土地

    原氹仔市政街市舊址又稱嘉模墟,位於氹仔施督憲政街與官也街的交界處,約創建於1879年[1],1886年經改建為今天的模樣[2]。到了二十世紀七十年代,氹仔市政街市開始荒廢,隨着城市的發展,位於官也街與地堡街交匯處的新街市於1983年落成後,街市舊址開始用作放置雜物、倉庫等用途。2003年,民政總署開始對氹仔市政街市舊址進行改造工程,在原主體結構的基礎上,打造一座休閒廣場,同時,拆除其餘兩邊圍牆,開放整個場所作為廣場供公眾休憩之用,並以廣東話表述街市意義的“墟”字來命名,符合歷史上氹仔街坊的口頭俗稱的同時,又體現出街市與廣場概念的相互結合[3]

    嘉模墟(原氹仔市政街市舊址)以現存四坡頂亭式建築為中心,兩邊配單坡頂敞廊式建築,另外兩邊設矮圍牆和入口。雖然街市建築採用西式建築形制,但屋頂是典型的中式廣府建築瓦作,柱子模仿古典造型,但在柱式比例和構成與一般做法有差異,屋頂結構使用西方傳統的中柱式木桁架支承,檐口又有澳門不多見的雙層封檐板做法,其中內層封檐板的花瓣形剪邊具有東南亞和南亞建築的影子,其建築風格獨特,為氹仔舊城區的主要公共建築。

    在大型的新式室內街市仍未廣泛興建以前,開放式的街市建築是澳門早期公共街市的原始面貌,而嘉模墟(原氹仔市政街市舊址)作為氹仔碩果僅存的早期公共街市之實物遺存,是本澳門公共街市歷史的重要見證。

     

    [1] 歷史檔案,澳門檔案館,第MO/AH/AC/SA/01/00502號文件。

    [2] 《澳門憲報》,1886年9月14日,第36號。

    [3] 資料由民政總署提供。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本