Classified Immovable Properties

    SM020 – Former Site of Tarrafeiro Municipal Market (Former Site of Sei Mang Municipal Market)


    Location: Macao

    Category: Sites

    The old Tarrafeiro Market, located at the confluence of Rua de Cinco de Outubro with Rua do Guimarães, also known as “Simão Market” and "Kong Iec Market" [1], already existed before the 1870s, mainly intended for the sale of fresh fish.. At that time the Market was located at Travessa do Alpendre and Travessa das Galinholas, and extended through covered spaces in all four directions. [2]. At the beginning, it was run by the Deputy of the Viceroy of Guangdong and Guangxi, Peng Yu and his family, who rented out stands to vendors. Due to an occupation of two public streets that was considered illegal, the Senate extinguished the Tarrafeiro Market in 1884, ordering sellers to relocate to the municipal market near Hong Chan Kuan Temple on Rua Cinco de Outubro[3]. In March 1907, due to the ruin of several of the old Market buildings, the Public Works Department ordered the owner, Chou-sin-hyp, to demolish and rebuild them. The owner submitted a project for the reconstruction in June 1907[4] and the works were finished by January 1909[5]. The Market worked without interruption until 31 January 1928, when it was forced to close its doors due to poor sanitary conditions. [6]. Afterwards, the street section stretching from Travessa do Alpendre to the Tarrafeiro Municipal Market was closed for the construction of buildings[7]. With the suspension of its operation, the Tarrafeiro Municipal Market was gradually forgotten. The street, however, keeps intact the old landscape, bearing witness to the history of Macao’s public municipal markets.

    The Tarrafeiro Market was initially delimited by a barrier that served as a gateway. In 1907, with the new project licensed by the Public Works Department, new gates were built, with entries by Travessa das Galinholas and Travessa do Alpendre. The gates were integrated in the streets, delimiting a public space with a specific function. The combination of gates and public streets became a concrete example of the architectural solutions adopted in the first municipal markets in Macao. In the 1990s, after the collapse of the Travessa do Alpendre gate, only one gate remained, at Travessa das Galinholas. The surviving eclectic-style portico can be divided into three sections: the first consisting of a large arch, the second including a decorated frieze, and the third, topped by a curved pediment.

     

     


    [1] Tang Si, Scenery of Macao (Continuation), Beijing: China Federation of Literary and Art Circles Publishing House, 1999, p. 154.

    [2] Historical archives, The Archives of Macao, Document No. MO/AH/AC/SA/01/00578/001, p. 10.

    [3] Official Gazette, 29 March 1884, No. 13.

    [4] Announcement issued by the Loyal Senate on 18 April 1907.

    [5] According to the official letter from the then Public Works Department to the Loyal Senate on 18 January 1909, the owners of the Tarrafeiro Municipal Market applied for the painting of the walls of the houses, so it was speculated that the reconstruction was completed.

    [6] Historical archives, The Archives of Macao, Document No. MO/AH/LS/1324.

    [7] Cadastro das Vias públicas e Outros Lugares da Cidade de Macau, Macau, Leal Senado da Câmara Municipal de Macau, 1957, p. 42.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

被評定的不動產(建築文物)

    SM020-原沙欄仔街市舊址(原泗𠵼街市舊址)


    地區位置: 澳門

    被評定的不動產類別: 場所

    位置: 水雞巷及賣魚巷

    沙欄仔街市位於十月初五日街與海邊新街之間,又有泗孟街市及公益街市等稱呼[1],早於在十九世紀七十年代以前,沙欄仔街市已經存在,以販賣鮮魚為主,當時的街市是以賣魚巷及水雞巷為軸線,向四周延伸為四個有蓋的構築物[2]。沙欄仔街市最初是由兩廣總督的副將彭玉及其家人在此經營,將攤位分租給小販,到了1884年,澳葡政府計劃將沙欄仔街市撤銷,並要求攤販遷往靠近今十月初五日街康真君廟的公局街市[3]。在1907年6月,沙欄仔街市開始重新規劃[4],並最晚於1909年1月左右重建完成[5],街市一直使用至1928年1月31日因為衛生環璄不理想而停止運作[6]。及後,由賣魚巷通向沙欄仔街的一段道路被封閉並開始建造房屋[7],隨著街市停止運作,沙欄仔街市之名漸漸被人遺忘。但其街道肌理仍然保持著昔日的面貌,是本澳公共街市歷史的重要見證。

    早期的沙欄仔街市已設有門樓式的閘欄,作為出入口之用,到了1907年,澳葡政府重新規劃街市,並分別在水雞巷及賣魚巷建造了新的門樓。門樓置於街道之上,構成一個具有特定功能的公共空間,門樓與街道空間的結合,成為了澳門早期公共街市的具體實例。二十世紀九十年代,位於賣魚巷一側的門樓倒塌,現僅存水雞巷一側的門樓。門樓糅合新古典主義與巴洛克建築風格,其立面形式,可歸納為騎樓面、牌樓面、山花等三段,強調中軸與山花的上下對齊及垂直感。

     

    [1] 唐思《澳門風物誌(續篇)》,北京:中國文聯出版社,1999年,154頁。

    [2] 歷史檔案,澳門檔案館,第MO/AH/AC/SA/01/00578/001號文件,10頁。

    [3] 《澳門憲報》,1884年3月29日,第13號。

    [4] 1907年4月18日由澳門議事公局發出的公告。

    [5] 1909年1月18日由當時的工務部門致澳門議事公局的公函,指沙欄仔街市的業主申請為房屋粉刷牆身,故推測當時街市重建工程已完工。

    [6] 歷史檔案,澳門檔案館,第MO/AH/LS/1324號文件。

    [7] Cadastro das Vias públicas e Outros Lugares da Cidade de Macau, Macau, Leal Senado da Câmara Municipal de Macau, 1957. p42.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本