Classified Immovable Properties

    AM046 – The Moosa Houses


    Location: Macao

    Category: Buildings of architectural interest

    The Portuguese built their cities based on “straight streets” that interconnected various public spaces and contained churches, municipal authorities, spaces for commercial activities, etc. The city of Macau was also developed according to this model, with Portuguese residential neighborhoods, such as the S. Lourenço neighborhood, being established along a straight street. Rua Central, literally Central Street, in the city of Macau, as the name implies, follows the model of the straight streets. It was flanked by a wide array of shops to provide the Portuguese residing around the São Lourenço parish with daily necessities.

    The Moosa Houses, in Rua Central belonged to a Muslim family from India. For business purposes, Cassam Moosa came to Macao and opened a foreign company using the Chinese translation “架深” of his name “Cassam” as the company name. According to its advertisements, the company was founded in 1880. The two residential houses may have been constructed before the establishment of the company that occupied an important position in Macao’s business sector.

    Rua Central was for centuries one of the most prosperous commercial areas in the city. The Moosa Houses were built before 1880 and, boasting a history of over 130 years, testify to the historical evolution of Rua Central, the rooting process and the way of life of minority groups in Macao, providing a reference for research into Macao’s ethnic minorities.

    Until the 1960s and the 1970s, houses flanking Rua Central were mostly traditional two-storey or three-storey “shop houses” with no arcades – used for both commercial and residential purposes. Shops were on the ground floor while residential spaces occupied the upper floors. Today, the Moosa Houses located at No. 45-47 Rua Central are the only extant buildings that keep intact the architectural features of the old times. The Moosa House at No. 45 adopts shuttered windows in the Portuguese style on the second and third floors. The one at No. 47 displays some peculiarities. Mica windows and vase railings are applied as ornaments on the second floor,the eaves are designed with a simple Chinese wooden structural element – Dougong or wooden interlocking brackets. Such a mixture of Chinese and Western architectural styles shows how Macao has given rise to unique architectural styles under the influence of multiple cultures. Dougong, a rare sight in Macao’s “shop houses”, also reflects the combination of unique architectural styles with traditional ones. The Moosa Houses are important examples for studying Macao’s “shop houses”.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

被評定的不動產(建築文物)

    AM046-穆薩家族房屋


    地區位置: 澳門

    被評定的不動產類別: 具建築藝術價值之樓宇

    位置: 龍嵩正街45-47號

    葡萄牙建城以“直街”串連多個廣場空間,直街上建有教堂、市政機構、商業活動場所等,澳門亦以該模式發展,風順堂區等早期葡萄牙人聚居的區域亦沿直街形成。其中,龍嵩正街是直街的組成部分之一,其葡文名稱“Rua Central”意即“中央大街”,龍嵩正街上的商舖曾為居住在風順堂區一帶的葡萄牙人提供生活所需。

    “穆薩家族”是來自印度的穆斯林,Cassam Moosa早年來澳從事貿易業務,取其名字“Cassam”的中文譯名“架深”作為洋行的名稱。根據架深洋行早年的廣告得知其創設於1880年,故可推定洋行創設之時該兩座建築已建成,其在澳門貿易生意中佔有重要地位。

    龍嵩正街作為澳門“直街”的重要組成部分,是葡萄牙在澳門實踐其建城模式的見證,並漸漸發展成澳門其中一處最繁榮的商業中心,而穆薩家族房屋建成年份不晚於1880年,至今已達130多年,其見證著龍嵩正街的歷史演變、少數族群在澳門定居的過程以及生活面貌,更可為澳門少數族群的研究提供參考。

    直至二十世紀六、七十年代,龍嵩正街上多為樓高兩、三層的傳統無拱廊式“店屋(Shop House)”,即“下舖上居”式的商住兩用建築,一層為店面、二層以上為住宅。時至今日,龍嵩正街上僅餘45-47號房屋仍完整保留當時的建築特色,45號房屋的二層及三層皆採用葡式百葉窗;47號房屋則較為特別,二層採用雲母窗及花瓶欄杆作裝飾,屋檐則罕有使用設計較簡約的中式木構斗栱,屬中西合壁的建築風格,反映澳門在多元的文化影響下,形成獨特的建築特色,而斗栱則在澳門的店屋建築中尤為罕見,反映十九世紀店屋在傳統形制下又保持獨特的建築風格。其亦是研究澳門店屋建築的重要實例。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本