Classified Immovable Properties

    MM046 – St. Paul’s College Archaeological Site (Section of the Old Wall at Rua de D. Belchior Carneiro)



    Location: Macao

    Category: Monuments

    The St. Paul’s College was the first western institution of higher education founded in 1594 in China by the Society of Jesus. It was comprised of a church, a teaching area, courtyards, dormitories, a printing house, a drugstore and vegetable gardens and surrounded by walls. In 1601, the college was reconstructed due to a fire disaster. In order to build a “Hortus conclusus”, a concept from the Middle Ages meaning “enclosed garden”, the walls were reconstructed in 1606 and the reconstruction was completed in the same year[1]. In 1835, most of the buildings were destroyed in another fire.

    In May 2010 when buildings at No. 35 Rua de D. Belchior Carneiro were demolished, relics were discovered underground. Upon archaeologists’ careful examination, they were identified as ruins of rammed earth walls that roughly ran from the south to the north. The unearthed walls were about 15.6 metres in length and 1 to 1.26 metres in width at the top, but the bottom width remains unclear. The western walls are well preserved, while the eastern and southern parts are partially damaged. The walls differ in height, with the highest reaching about 2.45 metres.

    At the southern section of the walls, two layers of interior and exterior bricks laid with staggered joints, both about 1.9 metres long, were discovered. The interior of the brick walls was constructed of rammed earth. The façade of the walls comprises two parts. The top part is made of rammed earth visible from archaeological observation. Well preserved, the remaining rammed earth has a height of about 1.36 metres and a width ranging from 5 to 10 centimetres. The bottom part is a neatly processed stone base, about one metre in height, plastered with five layers of lime earth. The exterior of bricks and the extension of the stone walls are first plastered with lime and then paved with plate tiles which are finally plastered with lime. According to historical documents and maps, some of the walls of the St. Paul’s College are rammed earth walls.

    Some of the architectural remains of the St. Paul’s College are still extant today, including the façade of the Church of St. Paul, and are a testimony to the historical development and vicissitudes of the college. The stretch of rammed earth walls at No. 35 Rua de D. Belchior Carneiro identified by archaeologists as part of the walls surrounding the college is of research value for determining the border of the St. Paul’s College. As material remains of the St. Paul’s College, the rammed earth walls could not only shed light on the layout, architectural philosophy and techniques applied to the construction of the college, but also serve as reference materials to help reconstitute its historical layout. The Ruins of St. Paul’s College, including the vestiges of the old wall, are a testimony of the development of the St. Paul’s College, the spread of Catholicism in Macao, the educational efforts of the church and the history of cultural exchanges between China and the West.

     


    [1] [Portuguese] Clementino Amaro, translated by Zeng Yongxiu, St. Paul’s College and Mount Fortress: Archaeology and Interpretation, published on “Museums Living History – Mount Fortress”, Macao: Macao Museum, 1998, p. 115-119.


    Privacy Policy    |    Feedback

    Copyright © Cultural Affairs Bureau, All rights reserved
    Praça do Tap Seac, Edif. do Instituto Cultural, Macau
    Tel:(853) 2836 6866 Fax:(853) 2836 6899 Email:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    Best view at 1024 x 768 resolution with 10 or above versions of Internet Explorer, Adobe Acrobat Reader 9 or above versions.

被評定的不動產(建築文物)

    MM046-聖保祿學院遺址(圍牆遺跡,高園街一段)



    地區位置: 澳門

    被評定的不動產類別: 紀念物

    位置: 高園街35號

    聖保祿學院由耶穌會創立於1594年,是中國境內第一所西式高等教育機構。學院除了包括教堂、教學區、庭院、宿舍、印刷所、藥房、菜園等設施,尚有圍牆環繞,1601年,學院經歷了大火後進行重建,而為實現將學院視作封閉庭園(Hortus conclusus)的中世紀概念,圍牆於1606年再次被建造,並於同年竣工[1]。直到1835年再次遭遇大火,大部分建築被燒毀。

    2010年5月,高園街35號房屋拆卸工程開展期間,於地下發現疑似遺跡,後經考古專家到場就有關發現進行研判,通過考古清理瞭解到該遺跡屬夯土牆,大致呈南北向,已發現部分平面長約15.6米,頂部寬約1-1.26米,底部不詳,牆體西側保存較好,東側南部局部被破壞,牆體高度各處不一,最高約2.45米。

    其中,夯土牆南端局部發現內外包磚兩道,均長約1.9米,丁磚錯縫鋪砌,兩道磚牆內側為夯土。牆體立面可分為兩個部分:上層為夯土,從考古解剖溝的觀察可見,夯土保存較好,殘高約1.36米,夯層厚約5-10厘米;下層為石牆壘砌基礎,其壘砌工整,縫隙中填充灰土,共發現5層,高約1米,在磚外側、石牆寬出部分先用白灰墊底,然後斜鋪上板瓦片,最後在瓦片外塗抹白灰形成牆皮,結合文獻資料、歷史地圖,該夯土牆屬於聖保祿學院圍牆的一部分。

    現時,聖保祿學院仍存有部分建築遺跡,包括大三巴牌坊,即學院教堂前壁遺跡等印證學院在歷史上的面貌與興衰,而昔日學院具圍牆環繞,其中,位於高園街35號的一段夯土牆,經考古發現其保存至今,屬學院圍牆的一部分,對確定聖保祿學院的邊界具研究價值,而且作為聖保祿學院的實物遺存,除了是暸解聖保祿學院的格局、建築理念及手法,以至重塑其歷史面貌的參考資料,亦與其他學院遺跡共同見證聖保祿學院、本澳天主教傳播、教會教育工作,以至東西文化交流的歷史。

     

    [1]〔葡〕Clementino Amaro著,曾永秀譯,《聖保祿神學院和大炮台:考古挖掘和解讀》,載於《與歷史同步的博物館--大炮臺》,澳門:澳門博物館,1998年,115-119頁。

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    私隱權保護政策    |    意見箱

    © 澳門特別行政區政府文化局 版權所有
    地址:澳門塔石廣場文化局大樓
    電話:(853) 2836 6866 傳真:(853) 2836 6899 電郵:webmaster@icm.gov.mo

    瀏覽本站建議使用1024 X 768解析度,IE 10 或以上版本